Governing Body

The school became an Academy Trust with Company status in January 2012.

The responsibilities, role and membership of the Governing Body are set out in the trust’s Articles of Association. It has overall responsibility for the management and strategic direction of the school and for ensuring that the academy meets all the obligations placed on it by the DfE and EFA and any other statutory requirements.

The Governing Body is made up of some 21 Trustees (also referred to as governors or directors), and is a member of the National Governance Association.

It meets termly and a lot of its detailed discussions are carried out in a number of committees to which every governor is a member of one. In addition, various governors take on special responsibility for links with certain school activities.

To contact the Governing Body please email or write to the Chair of Governors:

Chair of Governors
Colchester Royal Grammar School
6 Lexden Road